News & Press

Mark White, ’74 to serve as President, Cumberland School of Law National Alumni Association

Birmingham attorney J. Mark White was installed as the President of the Cumberland School of Law National Alumni Association (2007-2009) on March 30, 2007, at the Cumberland Alumni Gala at the Ross Bridge Resort in Birmingham. The Association represents 7000 Cumberland graduates who practice in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and several foreign countries. White, a 1974 graduate of the Cumberland School of Law, succeeds R. Larry Morris from Pensacola, Florida as the Alumni President.

“My experience at the Cumberland School of Law was a life-changing event, and I am delighted to assist our magnificent Dean in working with fellow alumni, faculty and students to continue the fine tradition of our school.”

White founded the law firm of White Dunn & Booker, which in 2003 became White Arnold & Dowd P.C. Mr. White is licensed to practice before the U.S. District Court for the Northern, Southern and Middle Districts of Alabama; Alabama Supreme Court; U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh and Fifth Circuits and the U.S. Supreme Court. He is President-Elect Designee of the Alabama State Bar (2007-2008); Board of Commissioners for the Alabama State Bar (1995-2004); President of the Birmingham Bar Association (2004); Member of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers; Member of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers; listed in The Best Lawyers in America (1995-present); Member, House of Delegates of the American Bar Association (1995-2001); and Member of the Alabama State Bar Committee on Judicial Reform. Mr. White has also received numerous other awards for his services to the community and to the State of Alabama. He has served as trial counsel in numerous matters including white collar crime, environmental, mass tort, personal injury, antitrust, and securities litigation. Mark White received his undergraduate degree from Auburn University in 1969, and he served two years in the United States Navy from 1970 to 1972.